top of page
  • Artist: Blown Free
  • Label: Dyamond Roxx Series
  • UPC: 321594192814
  • Genre: Hard Rock
  • Release Date: 11/15/2022

    David Mathews started his career way back in the late 60s, in the Psychedelic scene. In 1978, he formed Blown Free, in Houston/TX. Moving on to a heavier, more direct approach, clashing the fuzzy acid guitar sound with high-energy riffing, brilliantly shown in "The Wizard" single, which became over the following decades, a holy grail for 70s & 80s Metal collectors. Presented on Digipak CD includes band history and band photo plus cover of the second single. Digitally remastered from the original tapes. Another Texas Rock Dyamond, limited strictly to 300 copies!

    Blown Free were a Houston band active between 1978 and 1982. Their history is almost completely unknown, what is known is that the band’s leader and main songwriter, David Matthews, has a long history in music. He got his start in Wisconsin, playing in some underground psyche bands as early as 1968. When he moved to Houston he immediately put together his own band and the resultsof this can be heard on this disc, what recordings survived anyway. If there ever was a band that could be classified as “obscure, underground rock” this is surely one. The only known release on this band is a sole 45 released on Excelsior (the label owned by the late Bill Holford, SR. of ACA Studios in Houston). Mr. Holford would sometimes take a band under his wing and help them through business deals and publishing deals, which is what he did with Blown Free. After the dissolution of the band, and the break-up of Matthews’ marriage, David took off for greener pastures back in Wisconsin where he started his own label and put together another version of Blown Free, this time under the moniker of The Matthew Davis Project.

    Tracks 1-4 Recorded at ACA Studios in Houston, TX, 1982.
    Track 4 is an alternate mix of the version on the 7" single.
    Tracks 5-11 are taken from a rehearsal tape recorded sometime in 1978.
    Track 12 taken from the band’s only official release, the Excelsior Records
    7" single, recorded at ACA Studios and engineered by Bill Holford, SR.

    File Under: 70's Hard Rock, Psychedelic Hard Rock.
    For fans of: Josefus, JPT Scare Band, First State Bank and Highway Robbery.

Blown Free - Maximum Rock And Roll (CD in Digipak) (2022 Dyamond Roxx)

    bottom of page