• Artist: Pretty Maids
  • Label: Loudworks Records
  • UPC: 8992772485012
  • Genre: Hard Rock
  • Release Date: 2021

    Danish hard rock band the Pretty Maids were formed in 1981 by singer Ronnie Atkins and guitarist Ken Hammer; adding guitarist Pete Collins, bassist John Darrow, and drummer Phil More, the group recorded this demo which earned them a contract with the British label Bullet, resulting in the 1983 release of their self-titled debut EP (an EP that also would be released by Fingerprints in Sweden and re-released with a different cover artwork by CBS a year later). The bands debut album EP featured 5 tracks from their demo as well as the track Bad Boys. However the original demo featured 9-tracks which makes this album a must have. For the first time we can now enjoy the demo in its entirety with the guitar wizardry of Ken Hammer. The early Pretty Maids material had a more metallic, NWOBHM-inspired feel than some of their later albums. Tracks like ‘City Light’, ‘Children of Tomorrow’ and ‘Nowhere to Run’ still brings back lovely memory of my youth. ‘Children of Tomorrow’ has a fantastic verse and fine vocals from Atkins; it shows off a real sense of song-writing.

Pretty Maids - Heavy Metal: Demo 1983 (CD) (Euro Import)